Dance of the Eight Kinds of Spirits (De Gye)

Costume: Knee-length yellow skirt, animal mask

De Gye are the spirits possessing the three realms of existence: Heaven, earth and the underworld.

These spirits – the Lha (Gods), Dud (Devil), Tsen (Demon), Shinje (Lord of Death), Mamo (Fearful demon), Gyelpo (Ruling Spirit), Nodjin (Harmful spirit), and Sadag (Demons of Naga) constantly torment sentient beings.

However, protective deities such as Pal Yeshey Gonpo transform into the chief of these spirits and subdue them thus recovering the peace and happiness of the followers of Buddha. The dancers are the incarnation of the gods themselves.